For my gig with the gay-band next Wednesday, I wanted to put some round-wound strings on my guitar, for a brighter tone. The flat-wounds don’t really seem to cut through the mix. As always, I’m very particular about the gauge and brand I use. The closest shop to me didn’t have exactly what I was looking for, so I tried set of Galli Strings (.11-.14-.18-.28-.38-.49). They are actually very nice — very pliant with a mellow sound, and came with a free pick! You would never guess that they were coated with polyurethane like Elixir or Wyres strings. Unfortunately, they are just too thin to get a good sound out of the GB-10, even with the tailpiece tightened all the way.

That didn’t stop me from enjoying myself for a bit, though. To test the strings, I played a major scale on each string. This turned out to be a great exercise for moving my left hand horizontally across the fret board, visualizing the construction of the scale. These are two areas where I’m really weak.

Then I came up with a cool chord progression: |E7(#9)-Eb7(#9)-DM7-C#m7-Cm7b5(11)|
The Eb7(#9) can be substituted with an Em7b5 chord. More and more I notice how these two altered sounds are interchangeable, even though their function in a standard progression is different. (A minor 7th flat-five is usually a ii chord, and the dominant sharp-nine is usually a five.)

コメントを残す

