I blog because I’m bored. So I’m going to use this opportunity to write about my new strings like I always do, except that this new Thomastik-Infeld 12-50 is very close to perfect. They sound balanced, bend easy and stay in tune. The also set me back about $15 a set but I think it’s worth it.
This set is unique because the A-D strings are lighter than the usual .40 and .30 which makes playing chords easier . This is important because I’m expanding my vocabulary aggressively now. The only problem is that the G-string is so light that it sounds weak and buzzes a bit, but I’m trying to compensate for this by adjusting the tailpiece and the truss rod.

This guitar is really something special. Last night I wrote another tune with it, based on the changes in one of Phil Upchurch’s 12×12 etudes. It took me about an hour of intense concentration, and another hour to transcribe it using Finale Songwriter. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and so I’m happy that it’s done but I still need to try it live before I am truly satisfied with the result.

コメントを残す

